ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Winners List (2007 – 2022)

The first ICC Men’s T20 World Cup started in 2007, and India won the inaugural T20 World Cup by defeating Pakistan by just 5 runs. Since 2007, 8 seasons of World Cups have been played, and England and West Indies are the only two teams who have won the World Cup titles more than twice. The last T20 World Cup was played in 2022 when England won against Pakistan by 5 wickets.

ICC T20 Cricket World Cup Champions:

The second edition of the World Cup was played in 2009 in England, and Pakistan won the title against Sri Lanka. West Indies hosted the third edition of the World Cup in 2010, where Australia lost to England in the final, and the English team won its first ICC tournament. The fourth edition was held in 2012 in Sri Lanka, and the West Indies defeated Sri Lanka in their home to win the World Cup title.

For the fifth tournament of the T20 World Cup, Bangladesh got the hosting rights, and Sri Lanka became the World Champions by winning against India in the final. India hosted the sixth edition of the World Cup in 2016, where West Indies defeated England and won the T20 World Cup for the second time.

The seventh edition was hosted by UAE in 2021, and mighty Australia won the World Title for the first time by beating New Zealand in the final.

List of T20 World Cup Winners

Check out the list below for the T20 Cricket World Cup Winners list.

157/5 (20 overs)
152 all out (19.4 overs)
South Africa
139/2 (18.4 overs)
Sri Lanka
138/6 (20 overs)
148/3 (17 overs)
147/6 (20 overs)
West Indies
2012West Indies
137/6 (20 overs)
Sri Lanka
101 all out (18.4 overs)
Sri Lanka
2014Sri Lanka
134/4 (17.5 overs)
130/4 (20 overs)
2016West Indies
161/6 (19.4 overs)
155/9 (20 overs)
173/2 (18.5 overs)
New Zealand
172/4 (20 overs)
UAE, Oman
138/5 (19 overs)
137/8 (20 overs)
2024United States
West Indies

Expansion to 16 teams

The fourth edition of the World Cup was decided to expand to 16 teams, but due to some reasons, the decision wasn’t successful, and the tournament was held with 12 teams. ICC T20 World Cup 2014 was the first season when 16 teams participated in the tournament. Of the 16 teams, 10 were full members, and 6 qualified from the ICC World T20 Qualifiers 2013.

According to the Men’s T20 Rankings, the top 8 teams from the full members directly qualified for the Super 10 stage, and the remaining teams competed in the group stage, from where 2 teams made their place in the Super 10 stage.

UAE, Nepal, and Hong Kong were the debutant teams of the T20 World Cup.

Expansion to 20 teams

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has decided that the T20 World Cup 2024, 2026, 2028, and 2030 will be expanded to 20 teams from different regions. The teams will be divided into four groups, with 5 teams per group. The top two teams from each group will qualify for the Super Eights. The Super Eight stage will have two groups (four teams per group), and the top two teams from each group will qualify for the semi-finals.

ICC picks the upcoming T20 World Cup 2024 hosts, West Indies and USA. The ICC has already announced the T20 World Cup 2024 schedule, starting on 1 June 2024.


How many teams have won the Cricket T20 World Cup?

West Indies and England are the only two teams who won the Cricket World Cup T20 twice. Other teams, including India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, and Australia, are the one-time champions.

Fans are anxiously waiting, that who will be winning the next edition, T20 World Cup 2024.

Where to buy T20 World Cup tickets 2024?

The T20 World Cup 2024 Tickets will be available for sale from 22 February at https://tickets.t20worldcup.com. You can create your account and purchase tickets of your requirements directly with your debit/ credit card.

Who was the winner of T20 World Cup 2022 men?

The England team won the eighth edition (T20 World Cup 2022) and defeated Pakistan in the final by 5 wickets. Sam Curran was the man of the match who also became the player of the tournament.

Leave a Comment